I want to take a moment to thank the graduating seniors that were not in the starting lineup at Nationals this year. Wrestling is much more of a team sport than many may think. It is well known that the Iowa Wrestling program is a close team. Each member has a role and contributes to the team success on the mat.

Vince Turk – Hampshire, Illinois (Montini Catholic HS), 141/149. Turk was a member of the Recruiting Class of 2015. He was an NCAA Qualifier for the Hawks in 2018 at 141. After moving to 149 Turk saw action on the varsity squad. This past season Turk was 5-3 with two close losses to Top 8 ranked wrestlers.

For his career Turk was a five time Letterwinner. He was named Academic All Big Ten three times and also to the Dean’s List. Turk was named for the 2019 and 2022 Coaches Appreciation Award.

Myles Wilson – Junction, Colorado (Glenwood Springs HS), 174/184. Wilson was in the Recruiting Class of 2017. He was the starter at 174 for five dual meets before an injury ended his season as a redshirt freshman in 2019. This season Wilson was 2-1 in varsity action at 184 with his only loss to a ranked opponent.

Wilson represented Team USA at the 2021 U23 World Freestyle Championships in Belgrade, Serbia. He was a four time letterwinner. Wilson was named for the 2022 Coaches Appreciation Award.

Aaron Costello – Dubuque, Iowa (Western Dubuque HS), Hwt. Costello was in the Recruiting Class of 2017. He was 11-2 this past season and won the Harold Nichols Open. He competed in five varsity dual meets in 2019. 

Costello was named Academic All Big Ten four times and was a four time Letterwinner. Costello was named for the 2022 Coaches Appreciation Award.


For my previous blogs on graduating seniors:

Thank you Michael Kemerer https://iowawrestlingblog.com/2022/03/thank-you-michael-kemerer/


Thank you Alex Marinelli: https://iowawrestlingblog.com/2022/03/thank-you-alex-marinelli/


Thank you Kaleb Young: https://iowawrestlingblog.com/2022/03/thank-you-kaleb-young/


Thank you Austin DeSanto: https://iowawrestlingblog.com/2022/03/thank-you-austin-desanto/


Thank you Jaydin Eierman: https://iowawrestlingblog.com/2022/03/thank-you-jaydin-eierman/


With the five seniors in the lineup this will make eight members of the Iowa Wrestling team graduating that saw varsity action with six of them competing in the NCAA National Tournament.

I am very confident that these eight wrestlers will go on and have a successful life after Iowa Wrestling.

I want to thank all of these wrestlers for how well they represented Iowa Wrestling on the mat in competition, as a teammate, and in the classroom. You all left your mark and were a huge part of bringing a national title home for Iowa Wrestling. You will always be known as an Iowa Wrestler.

Thank you and best of luck to all of the Iowa Wrestling seniors.


It is great to be an Iowa Wrestling fan.

Go Hawks!