The Big Ten just announced that 14 members of the Iowa Wrestling team were named to the 2023 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team. 


To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team (as verified by being on the official squad list), have been enrolled full time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Cullan Schriever was one of only twenty-two Big Ten athletes that were highlighted for having a perfect 4.0 GPA.

Also a mention that Tony Cassioppi, Max Murin, and Jacob Warner achieved this honor while pursuing a Masters degree.

This was the sixth straight year that Iowa Wrestling has had at least ten members named for this honor.


Drake Ayala – Business

Drew Bennett – Interdepartmental Studies (Business)

Nelson Brands – Sport and Recreation Management 

Tony Cassioppi – Masters degree in Management 

Zach Glazier – Sport and Recreation Management (Business)

Joe Kelly – Computer Science 

Patrick Kennedy – Sport and Recreation Management 

Charles Matthews – Business 

Max Murin – Masters degree in Sport and Recreation Management 

* Cullan Schriever – Sport and Recreation Management  (4.0 GPA)

Leif Schroeder – Social Studies Education/History 

Cobie Siebrecht – Enterprise Leadership 

Brennan Swafford – Art

Jacob Warner – Masters degree in Business Analytics 


Great job. That is getting it done on the mat and in the classroom.


It is great to be an Iowa Wrestling fan.

Go Hawks!