Incoming Iowa Wrestling recruits dominated the annual Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Awards.

Lilly Luft of Charles City was named as the Dan Gable Ms. Wrestler of the Year. Luft recently won her third state title and finished her career with a 125-6 record. Luft was 40-0 this season and won a state title at 130 lbs. 

Luft committed to the University of Iowa last September. Iowa Women’s Wrestling will start their first official year of competition next season.

It was clean sweep for incoming Hawkeyes in the top three spots for the Dan Gable Mr. Iowa Wrestler of the Year in 3A. Ben Kueter was named as the Wrestler of the Year and Gabe Arnolds and Ryder Block were also finalists for the award.

Kueter of City High (Iowa City) finished his career as the 32nd four-time state champion in state history and just the seventh to have a career undefeated record (111-0). He is the overall #1 recruit in the country pound for pound by MatScouts. Kueter won a Junior World Freestyle title last summer in Sophie, Bulgaria at 97 kg/213 lbs. Kueter is also and elite linebacker in football and received All American honors. He committed to both Iowa Wrestling and Iowa Football.

Gabe Arnold of City High (Iowa City) captured a state title at 182 lbs. in 3A. He is currently ranked #2 nationally at 182 lbs. by MatScouts. Ryder Block won his third 3A state title for Waverly-Shell-Rock and is ranked #2 nationally at 138 lbs. by MatScouts.

Kale Petersen of Greene County was named as the Dan Gable Mr. Wrestler of the Year in 2A. Petersen recently won his third state title. Petersen was 32-0 this year in winning the state title at 132 lbs.

Luft, Kueter, Arnold, Ryder, and Petersen are high school seniors and will enroll at the University of Iowa in August.

The future looks great for Iowa Men’s and Women’s Wrestling.

It is great to be an Iowa Wrestling fan.

Go Hawks!