Mitch Kelly was named for the 2024 Rob McReynolds Passion Award. The award was represented at the Hawkeye Wrestling Club yearly banquet.

Mitch has been involved in Iowa Wrestling since he arrived on campus from Dubuque, Iowa (Wahlert HS). As a member of the Iowa Wrestling team Mitch was a four-time letterwiner (1984-87) and a member of three NCAA national championship teams and four Big Ten team championships. 

After his competition days at Iowa Mitch became a board member of the Hawkeye Wrestling Club. He currently serves as the HWC Vice-President.


Defense Soap: Natural performance skincareDiamond Dental, P.C. Dentist in Cedar Rapids, Iowa


From HWC:

Kelly is a three-time graduate of the University of Iowa, first earning a BA in psychology, later a master’s in social work, and finally a PhD in educational psychology. He is currently a clinical professor at the UI College of Education, where he has taught for more than 25 years. He is widely recognized for his exceptional teaching skills, dedication to students, and innovative contributions to graduate education. He has received numerous awards and honors and was recently presented the 2023 President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence. 


The Heights Rooftop: Wedding venue in University Heights, Iowa2T Construction in Lisbon, Iowa


From HWC:

Rob McReynolds was passionate about everything in life and was known for his high energy, drive, and determination. An avid Hawkeye wrestling fan, Rob was a board member of the Hawkeye Wrestling Club. He attended 34 NCAA wrestling tournaments and was a member of the National Wrestling Coaches Association for 25 years. With his family at his side, Rob passed away in September 2019 following a bout with cancer.

Congratulations to Mitch Kelly for this deserved honor.


Rob McReynolds Award Recipients

Mitch Kelly (2024)

Roy Carver and Dan Gable (2023)

Herb Tyler (2022)

Randy Novak (2021)

Beth and Steve Reese (2020)

Forrest Molinari (2019)


It is great to be an Iowa Wrestling fan.

Go Hawks!