Spencer Lee was named for Iowa’s Big Ten Medal of Honor. Lee was also named for this honor in 2021. Lee was recognized for this prestigious honor at the 2023 University of Iowa Senior Student-Athlete Reception on Friday at Kinnick Stadium. 

From HawkeyeSports.com:

The Big Ten Medal of Honor is the conference’s most exclusive award, and the first of its kind in intercollegiate athletics to recognize academic and athletic excellence. The Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one male and one female student-athlete from the graduating class of each university who had “attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work.”

Lee takes his place as one of the greatest Iowa wrestlers of all time by winning three NCAA titles and is a two-time Hodge Trophy winner.

Congratulations Spencer Lee.


Accomplishments of Spencer Lee:

Three-time NCAA National Champion

Four-time All American

Two-time Hodge Trophy winner

Three-time Big Ten champion

Three-time Big Ten Wrestler of the Year

O.W. of the 2023 Big Ten Championships

2018 Big Ten Freshman of the Year

12 career falls in under one minute

29 first period falls

40 of 98 career victories ended in the first period – 29 falls/11 tech falls

Career 26-0 record in Carver-Hawkeye Arena

Two-time Big Ten Medal of Honor winner (2021 & 2023)

James E. Sullivan Award winner (2020)

Named NCAA Most Dominant Wrestler (2020)

Two-time Mike Howard Most Valuable Wrestler at Iowa 

Coaches Appreciation Award recipient

Three-time Academic All-Big Ten

Three-time NWCA Scholar Athlete

2020 U.S. Open champion

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner

2018 Big Ten Freshman of the Year

2018 Amateure Wrestling News Hammer Award

Seven-time Big Ten Wrestler of the Week

Three-time Freestyle World Champion: Cadet (2014), Junior World Champion (2015, 2016)

Bachelor of Arts degree in Sport and Recreational Management – Business

Spencer Lee wins again https://iowawrestlingblog.com/2021/08/spencer-lee-wins-again/


Spencer Lee – 125 lbs. Five-time All American

2018 – National Champion

2019 – National Champion 

2020 – All American – #1 seed at Nationals that were cancelled

2021 – National Champion

2022 – Redshirt

2023 – 6th


It is great to be an Iowa Wrestling fan.

Go Hawks!